history stack

Manipulate the history stack of one or more selected images.

🔗module controls

selective copy…
Copy parts of the history stack from the selected image.
copy
Copy the complete history stack from the selected image.
selective paste…
Paste parts of a copied history stack onto all selected images.
paste
Paste all items of a copied history stack onto all selected images.

Note: These are only brief descriptions, for an extensive explanation see copy & paste.


compress history
Compress the history stack of the selected image. If any module appears multiple times in the history stack, these occurrences will be compressed into a single step in the history. Beware: this action can not be undone!
discard history
Physically delete the history stack of the selected images. Beware: this action can not be undone!
load sidecar file
Open a dialog box which allows you to import the history stack from a selected XMP file. The imported history stack is used to completely replace the current history stack(s) of the selected image(s). Caution: this operation can not be undone!

Images that were exported by darktable typically contain the full history stack if the file format supports embedded metadata (see the export module for details of this feature and its limitations). You can load an exported image as a sidecar file in the same way as you can with an XMP file. This feature allows you to recover all parameter settings if you have accidentally lost or overwritten the XMP file. All you need is the source image, typically a raw, and the exported file.

write sidecar files
Write XMP sidecar files for all selected images. The filename is generated by appending “.xmp” to the name of the underlying input file.

By default darktable generates and updates sidecar files automatically whenever you work on an image and change the history stack. You can disable automatic sidecar file generation in preferences > storage. This can be useful when you are running multiple versions of darktable (so that edits in each version do not conflict with one another) however, in general, disabling this feature is not recommended.

translations